Check Out/Publish vs Live Project Updates in New Project
This is less of a suggestion but more of a clarification request. With this new Project product, the planning methodology seems to have fundamentally shifted from a 'check out file, make/test schedule changes, and publish' to a more 'live planning' approach where any changes are pushed instantly. There are still some businesses that do not plan in this way and are more sensitive to changes in dates, especially when automation (e.g. email/push notifications) are applied to the schedule. How does Microsoft plan to accommodate for organizations who may not want all of their planning to be published in real-time?
Putting a project/schedule in "Planning" mode and limiting access to it should work, but the prerequisite for this should be "access setting" and "user groups".
As later we want to indicate which user(s) can see the changes in "Planning" mode and who shouldn't and this could be not in only one project and rather across the instance so the admin can define the grouping of the users, etc.
Thanks for posting this. The thinking is there would be an option to go into planning mode and while in planning mode your changes aren't automatically visible to everyone. You would get to choose when to make that edition of the project visible to everyone.
Do you think this makes sense? Would love to get more feedback.